Summer Bones - Hit The Lights

hit the lights

Having signed to Pure Noise Records around April of last year, Hit The Lights are set to release their fourth full-length SUMMER BONES in a month’s time, but what should we expect from the Ohioans?…

If you’ve ever wondered how best to kick off an album, look to opening track ‘Fucked Up Kids,’ produced by Kyle Black (Comeback Kid/ Set Your Goals), it’s safe to say Hit The Lights can craft one hell of an addictive song, which blends oh so smoothly into ‘The Real’.  High energy, feel-good melodies and the perfect amount of a “hell yeah’ attitude, this is a release that will ease you into the Summer months where good driving music becomes key.

Short, sweetly wrapped tracks like ‘Revolutions and Executions’ and ‘Sitter’ will definitely cast your mind back to Four Year Strong’s 08′ ’RISE OR DIE TRYING, with the similarity in sound reflecting well on Hit The Lights, who are well on their way to perfecting their signature sound akin to the Pop-punk kings.

With Nick Thompsons’ vocals really helping to craft a more individual sound for HTL. ‘Blasphemy, Myself and I’ is a definite highlight on SUMMER BONES. For all the hopeless romantics and lovers of bands like Yellowcard, SUMMER BONES is a noticeable improvement on INVICTA, which should’ve been a given anyway, considering the near three year gap. Although, despite there not being as many standout tracks as hoped for, HTL’ fourth album continues to reiterate why the band are still cemented within the genre…long live the feel-good vibes.

Catch Hit The Lights next month on the Pure Noise Records tour w/ Four Year Strong, Forever Came Calling and Light You Up:

20 – LEEDS Met
21 – GLASGOW Arches
22 – MANCHESTER Academy 2
23 – NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms
24 – CARDIFF Y Plas 2
25 – NORWICH Waterfront
26 – LONDON Camden Electric Ballroom
27 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy 2
28 – BRIGHTON Concorde 2
29 – PORTSMOUTH Wedgewood Rooms



User Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
0 votes
Album: Summer Bones
Artist: Hit The Lights
Tracks: 10